terrycloth: (rhea)
terrycloth ([personal profile] terrycloth) wrote2005-10-31 01:30 pm

Rules Lawyering:

A question that came up during the games last night had to do with Umezawa's Jitte vs. Loxodon Warhammer. I attacked with a warhammer-equipped elf into a jitte-equipped saproling, then used a rotwurm to sac the elf after damage was stacked but before it was dealt.

It looks like this should have worked as I'd originally planned (our compromize was 'neither creature dealt damage') with the elf being considered to have dealt damage (gaining me life) but the jitte-creature not (getting no counters):

310.4a Combat damage is dealt as it was originally assigned even if the creature dealing damage is no longer in play, its power has changed, or the creature receiving damage has left combat.

[saccing the elf means it still dealt the damage]

310.4b The source of the combat damage is the creature as it currently exists, or as it most recently existed if it is no longer in play.

[it most recently existed with the ability 'when this deals damage you gain that much life']

310.4c If a creature that was supposed to receive combat damage is no longer in play or is no longer a creature, the damage assigned to it isn’t dealt.

[so damage *does* fizzle for lack of a target even if it was already assigned]

What's not as clear is what would happen if I had the jitte and he had the warhammer... does 'as it most recently existed' count for the jitte's trigger, which isn't translated onto the creature it equips?

Post a comment in response:

(will be screened)
(will be screened if not validated)
If you don't have an account you can create one now.
HTML doesn't work in the subject.
More info about formatting